#Booktour #Bookreview The War Girls of Goodwill House by Fenella J. Miller @Boldwoodbooks @rararesources @fenellawriter #boldwoodbloggers

The War Girls of Goodwill House

Lady Joanna Harcourt and her daughter Sarah discover their life of luxury at Goodwill House is over. Because with Lord Harcourt away fighting, the Harcourt girls are facing financial ruin.

Lady Joanna is terrified of losing their home, but for Sarah, this means her dreams of becoming a doctor are over. Headstrong Sarah isn’t one to quit! War or not, she’s determined to find a way to save her home and follow her dreams– whatever it takes!

Dashing RAF officer Angus Trent might just save the day. The new RAF base at Marston will soon be full of young women all hoping to serve their country, and Goodwill House will make the perfect home for them. But can Sarah convince Lady Joanna to agree to her plan?

Angus has never met a woman quite like Sarah – courageous, brave, unwavering. She has a huge task ahead of her, but if anyone can do it, his war girl can.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3w62m50

My thoughts

This historical saga had me intrigued from the start. I really believed that I was back in the world of the 1940’s in the faded glamour of Goodwill House. I quickly became engrossed in how the war changed the lives of Sarah and her mother Joanna.

The book did a really good job of portraying the freedoms and opportunities that the start of the second world war brought for women. This was through the different jobs and cultural changes that came about because of the war. I really admired the character of Sarah and her drive and determination to have a career for herself. She had a wise head on her young shoulders. The romance between Sarah and RAF officer Angus was everything that you’d expect from this period, whilst retaining a modern outlook. The open ending left me looking forward to more books in the series.

With thanks to Boldwood Books, Rachel’s Random Resources and NetGalley for this ARC I received in exchange for an honest review.


Author Bio –

Fenella J. Miller is the bestselling writer of eighteen historical sagas. She also has a passion for Regency romantic adventures and has published over fifty to great acclaim. Her father was a Yorkshireman and her mother the daughter of a Rajah. She lives in a small village in Essex with her British Shorthair cat.

Social Media Links –

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/fenella.miller/

Twitter https://twitter.com/fenellawriter

By Sarah l Campbell @3Strawberrylane

Hello reader, welcome to my book blog. Why not check out my reviews? I especially love romantic fiction and women's fiction. Happy reading! When I'm not reading, I'm writing romantic fiction with a cat on my knee and drinking lots of tea. You can see more about my Leaves of Change Cafe series on my homepage.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started